Selection of my film projects

1/2

"Freiheit suchen - Freiheit finden"

The term freedom has a different meaning for everyone. For Heli Putz, freedom is an essential part of his life. Based in the Austrian Salzkammergut, Heli showed us the many ways in which he is able to experience this feeling of freedom in his region every single day: from canyoning, climbing, paragliding to canoeing, the region has a lot to offer..

 

Directed by Mathias Peschta

Camera: Martin Hanslmayr

Drone: Alexander Brus

Sound: Christoph Detschmann

Production: West4Media

"Erzberg"

The Styrian Erzberg is a colossus that played an important role in history and is subject of many myths and legends. Local climbers and outdoor athletes led us to their favourite places in the Erzberg region, told us how this mountain has influenced their lives and further explained, why this pyramid feels like home for them. 

Directed by Nikolaus Mahatsek

Camera: Martin Hanslmayr, Alexander Brus

Sound: Christoph Detschmann

Production: bumm film GmbH

1/3

1/4

"Peter Schröcksnadels Canada"A breathtaking landscape and an impressive wildlife: Anyone who thinks that Peter Schröcksnadel is only a winter sports enthusiast will be set right by this documentary. Apart from skiing, fly fishing is Peter's great passion and where could he better pursue this hobby than in Canada, his second home by choice. Whether by boat or helicopter, Peter is always chasing after the big catch, to be more precise, a steelhead which, among fishermen, is considered especially difficult to catch

 

Directed by Werner Bertolan

Camera: Martin Hanslmayr

Drone: Alexander Brus

Production: ServusTV

"In den Bergen des Murtals"

The documentary about the Mur Valley has been filmed around the Formula 1 Opening 2020. From former Formula 1 driver Karl Wendlinger, who did a couple of hot laps at the Red Bull Ring in his Mercedes GT AMG, to the ski stars Nici Schmiedhofer, Lizz Görgl, Stephan Görgl and Renate Götschl, who cut an impressive figure when climbing and e-biking and finally, Christian Hlade from Weltweit Wandern who provided this documentary with an interesting spiritual touch.

Directed by Franz Fuchs

Camera: Günther Göberl, Alexander Brus, Klaus Achter

Sound: Robert Neumeyer

Production: ServusTV

1/3

"Mythos Cerro Torre"

In December 2018, we accompanied Reinhold Messner to Patagonia, where he traced the history of Cesare Maestri and Toni Egger and uncovered the dramatic events around the first ascent of Cerro Torre in 1959.

 

Directed by Reinhold Messner

Camera: Martin Hanslmayr, Günther Göberl

Assistant camera: Alexander Brus, Robert Neumeyer

Production: Riva Film

"Der Damavand"

Gerlinde Kaltenbrunner and Peter Habeler accompanied the Iranian botanist Jalil Noorozi, who climbed Mount Damavand (5671m) in the footsteps of the Austrian botanist Theodor Kotschy to explore the mountain's flora. Apart from that, the three also had numerous adventures in Tehran, the desert and the surrounding mountains.

 

Directed by Mathias Peschta

Camera: Alois Zauner, Alexander Brus, Federico Modica

Production: West4Media

"Ötscher - Majestät im Osten"

Benjamin Karl can be considered the Austrian flagship when it comes to snowboarding, especially the alpine slalom discipline. Although Benny has been living in East Tyrol for a few years now, he has never truly

forgotten his roots and  together with us,

he returned to the mountain of his youth - the Ötscher. There we had the chance to follow him at every turn on the slopes and in open 

terrain.

 

Directed by Martin Sochor

Camera: Jakob Schweighofer, Simon Platzer, Alexander Brus

Production: Whiteroom Productions

"Mount Everest - Der letzte Schritt"

When Reinhold Messner and Peter Habeler first climbed Mount Everest in 1978 without additional oxygen, Leo Dickinson captured this remarkable moment. To mark the 40th anniversary of this important event, we supplemented the original material with re-enactment scenes, shot with an analog camera.

 

Directed by Reinhold Messner

Camera: Martin Hanslmayr

Assistant camera: Alexander Brus, Alois Zauner

Production: Riva Film

"Der Traunstein - Der vertriebene Berg"

The history and appearance of the Traunstein are spectacular. Gerlinde Kaltenbrunner, the first woman to climb all eight-thousanders without additional oxygen, used this mountain to train for her projects. She showed us some routes to climb this colossus and the evening view was also very impressive.

 

Directed by Mathias Peschta

Camera: Martin Hanslmayr, Alexander Brus, Federico Modica, Alois Zauner

Production: West4Media

"Ama Dablam - Der heilige Berg"

Reinhold Messner and Oswald Ölz's actual plan in 1979 was to climb the Ama Dablam. However, this was prevented by Peter Hillary and his New Zealand expedition, who were hit by an ice avalanche in the middle of the wall. Messner and Ölz immediately took action and saved the survivors from the wall.

We accompanied Reinhold Messner to the scene of the accident and captured the re-enactment of the dramatic scenes.

 

Directed by Reihold Messner

Camera: Martin Hanslmayr, Atul Jain

Assistant camera: Alexander Brus, Alois Zauner

Production: Riva Film

  • Instagram

© 2020 Alexander Brus

Auswahl meiner Filmprojekte

1/2

"Freiheit suchen - Freiheit finden"

Der Begriff Freiheit hat für jeden Menschen eine andere Bedeutung. Für Heli Putz ist Freiheit ein zentraler Bestandteil seines Lebens. Wie er diese definiert und wobei er Freiheit empfindet, das zeigte er uns unter anderem in seiner Heimat, dem Salzkammergut. Egal ob Canyoning, Klettern, Paragliding oder Kanu-Fahren, all diese Aktivitäten geben Heli ein Gefühl von Freiheit. .

Regie: Mathias Peschta

Kamera: Martin Hanslmayr

Drohne: Alexander Brus

Ton: Christoph Detschmann

Produktion: West4Media

"Erzberg"

Der Erzberg ist ein mythenumwobener Koloss, der schon in der Vergangenheit eine wichtige Rolle gespielt hat. Einheimische Kletterer und Outdoor-Sportler führten uns durch ihre Region, erzählten uns, welchen Einfluss dieser Berg auf ihr Leben hat und warum diese "Pyramide" für sie Heimat bedeutet.

Regie: Nikolaus Mahatsek

Kamera: Martin Hanslmayr, Alexander Brus

Ton: Christoph Detschmann

Produktion: bumm film GmbH

1/3

1/4

"Peter Schröcksnadels Kanada"

Eine atemberaubende Landschaft und eine beeindruckende Tierwelt - wer gedacht hat, dass Peter Schröcksnadel ein reiner Wintersportler ist, hat sich getäuscht. Neben dem Skisport ist das Fliegenfischen seine große Leidenschaft und am liebsten lebt er dieses Hobby in seiner zweiten Heimat, Kanada, aus. Ob mit dem Boot oder dem Hubschrauber, Peter Schröcksnadel ist immer auf der Jagd nach dem großen Fang - um genau zu sein dem Steelhead, der unter Fischern als besonders schwer zu fangen gilt..

Regie: Werner Bertolan

Kamera: Martin Hanslmayr

Drohne: Alexander Brus

Produktion: ServusTV

"In den Bergen des Murtals"

Rund um das Formel 1 Opening 2020 entstand eine Dokumentation über das Murtal: vom ehemaligen Formel 1 Fahrer Karl Wendlinger, der mit seinem Mercedes GT AMG einige heiße Runden am Red Bull Ring drehte, über die früheren Skistars Nici Schmiedhofer, Lizz Görgl, Stephan Görgl und Renate Götschl, die beim Klettern und E-Biken eine beeindruckende Figur machten, bis hin zu Christian Hlade von Weltweit Wandern, der den spirituellen Teil der Dokumentation beigetragen hat. 

Regie: Franz Fuchs

Kamera: Günther Göberl, Alexander Brus, Klaus Achter

Ton: Robert Neumeyer

Produktion: ServusTV

1/3

"Mythos Cerro Torre"

Im Dezember 2018 waren wir mit Reinhold Messner in Patagonien unterwegs, der auf den Spuren von Cesare Maestri und Toni Egger war, um deren dramatische Geschichte aufzudecken, welche sich 1959 rund um die Erstbesteigung des Cerro Torre abgespielt hat.

Regie: Reinhold Messner

Kamera: Martin Hanslmayr, Günther Göberl

Kameraassistenz: Alexander Brus, Robert Neumeyer

Produktion: Riva Film

"Der Damavand"

Gerlinde Kaltenbrunner und Peter Habeler begleiteten den iranischen Botaniker Jalil Noorozi, der auf den Spuren des österreichischen Botanikers Theodor Kotschy den Mount Damavand (5671m) bestieg, um die Pflanzenwelt zu erforschen. Dabei haben sie aber auch in Teheran, der Wüste und den umliegenden Bergen zahlreiche Abenteuer erlebt.

Regie: Mathias Peschta

Kamera: Alois Zauner, Alexander Brus, Federico Modica

Produktion: West4Media

"Ötscher – Majestät im Osten"

Benjamin Karl - das österreichische Aushängeschild, wenn es um Snowboarden auf präparierten Pisten geht. Mittlerweile lebt er seit einigen Jahren in Osttirol, hat aber seine Wurzeln nie vergessen und kehrt gemeinsam mit uns zurück auf seinen Heimatberg, den Ötscher. Dort durften wir ihn auf der Piste und im freien Gelände auf Schritt und Tritt verfolgen.

Regie: Martin Sochor

Kamera: Jakob Schweighofer, Simon Platzer, Alexander Brus

Produktion: Whiteroom Productions

"Mount Everest - Der letzte Schritt"

Als Reinhold Messner und Peter Habeler 1978 den Mount Everest als erste Menschen ohne zusätzlichen Sauerstoff bestiegen, wurden die Bilder von Leo Dickinson eingefangen. Zum 40. Jubiläum dieses bedeutsamen Ereignisses haben wir mit einer analogen Kamera die Bilder ergänzt und die Szenen von damals nachgestellt.

Regie: Reinhold Messner

Kamera: Martin Hanslmayr

Kameraassistenz: Alexander Brus, Alois Zauner

Produktion: Riva Film

"Der Traunstein – Der vertriebene Berg"

Die Geschichte und das Aussehen des Traunstein sind spektakulär. Gerlinde Kaltenbrunner, die als erste Frau alle Achttausender ohne Sauerstoff erklommen hat, nutzte diesen Berg zum Trainieren für ihre Projekte. Sie zeigte uns einige Routen um diesen Koloss zu besteigen und einen beeindruckenden Ausblick bei abendlicher Stimmung.

 

Regie: Mathias Peschta

Kamera: Martin Hanslmayr, Alexander Brus, Federico Modica, Alois Zauner

Produktion: West4Media 

"Ama Dablam - Der Heilige Berg"

Der eigentliche Plan von Reinhold Messner und Oswald Ölz war es 1979, die Ama Dablam zu durchsteigen. Dieser wurde jedoch von Peter Hillary und dessen neuseeländischer Expedition verhindert, welche inmitten der Wand von einer Eislawine getroffen wurde. Messner und Ölz schritten sofort zur Tat und retteten die Überlebenden aus der Wand.

Wir waren gemeinsam mit Reinhold Messner beim Unglücksort und haben das Drama verfilmt.

Regie: Reihold Messner

Kamera: Martin Hanslmayr, Atul Jain

Kameraassistenz: Alexander Brus, Alois Zauner

Produktion: Riva Film

  • Instagram

© 2020 Alexander Brus